Periods.

Published by

on

Hey Girlies!!!!

So, today I wanna talk about periods. 

Periods are super taboo in our society, and there is no reason for them to be. Every girl will get her period in life, it’s normal, and nothing to be ashamed of. I feel like we always think that we are gonna get made fun of for being on our periods, but really we should be CONGRATULATING each other. “Congrats you aren’t pregnant!” “Congrats you can have kids!” “Congrats, and you can do this!”

Personally, I love talking about everything period-related. Society as a whole makes us feel bad for having our periods and doesn’t provide us with a lot of info. In school, I’ve always been told you could use pads or tampons on your period. But really there are soooooooooooo many different options to choose from. You can use pads, tampons, period underwear, cups, disks, they even have period SWIMSUITS! 

Girls aren’t educated enough, but you know who is REEEAAAALLLLLLLLLYYYYYYYYY uninformed? Guys. We should be able to talk to guys about this stuff, they should have info so they can understand what we go through EVERY MONTH. Most guys know that we bleed. Do they know how often? What happens? Why we are so moody? 

When guys see you being moody and they ask “Are you on your period” I literally want to SLAP them!!! Asking a girl if she is on her period is such a bad idea. Like I’m bleeding out of my vagina, and I have to go through this for a week every month, I could have cramps, and you ask me if I’m on my period, so yes I’m gonna snap at you. Don’t be inconsiderate and that won’t happen.

So girls, tell your guy friends about periods. Tell your brother, boyfriends, and all the other guys in your life. If you have a sob TELL HIM! We have to inform the men of this world! Don’t hide it, periods aren’t embarrassing at all, it’s totally normal and there is no reason it should have such a negative connotation. Think about it. If you explain periods and what girls go through to your boyfriend, brother, or best guy friend, imagine how prepared they’ll be in the future. Your guy friends and brother can now be such a better boyfriend to some girl and she will be SO thankful. 

Girls…. if you ever see someone has bleed through their pants PLEASE TELL THEM! You would want to know if that happened to you! It will be embarrassing, but the girl will be super thankful, and she’s now more likely to help another girl out. Another thing, if someone needs a pad or tampon and you have one, SHARE! There is no reason you can’t share!

Lastly, TRACK YOUR PERIODS! If you track your periods you will be able to know about when your next period will come! I use the health and Fitbit apps on my phone, and my apps can predict the day, and the last 2 times they have told me the correct day!

SOOO…. periods are normal. Girls help other girls out. Support each other. TEACH MEN!! Track your periods. And remember, you are beautiful!

                                                        xoxo Skylar Heart

Some more things to check out about periods:

 Inspiring period podcast— https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BpSu56HRTxY

Amazing graphic novel about periods—- Go With The Flow: Karen Schneemann and Lily Williams

HILARIOUS PERIOD MEMES!! PLEASE CHECK OUT! —–https://www.storypick.com/period-memes/

Email me your thoughts about this post at GirlsLetsTalk@outlook.com

3 responses to “Periods.”

  1. Mayim :) Avatar

    this is such a great and smart post to make! and telling the guys is a huge thing…my boyfriend asks me whenever im moody but he does it in a sweet and caring way and always makes sure to take care of me and check in on me a lot the rest of the week, and when they know they’ll make sure your ok bc they care about you ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Skylar Heart Avatar

      Awwww that’s so cute, he sounds like such a great guy! I love it when guys are like that, it means soooo much

      Like

  2. Scarlet hope Avatar
    Scarlet hope

    Great post… so very true! But maybe dont talk to your brother(embarrassing(duh) let his GF do that!(cuz cmon your siblings!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started